Falkirk v Queen’s Park Robin’s View

Queen’s Park travel to face Falkirk on Saturday in Round Four of the SPFL Trust Trophy with the Spiders out to match last season’s achievement of reaching the last eight.

The trip to The Falkirk Stadium is a considerably shorter journey than the one to Bala Town where Queen’s Park won in Round Three with the meeting in Stirlingshire also the first ever between the clubs in this competition.

The clubs were however together in League 1 in Season 2021/22 with Queen’s Park recording a 1-0 away success and then a 6-0 win at home with the final two meetings ending in 1-1 draws.

Robin Veldman spoke to QPTV this morning at Lochinch about Saturday’s cup-tie. The Head Coach covered:

  • Foundation Performance
  • Disconnections/ Connections
  • Confident Falkirk
  • Bodies in the Box
  • Injury Update

Click HERE to buy tickets for game:

The SPFL Trust Trophy so far
Queen’s Park enjoyed a trip to Wales in the last round of the competition and picked up a 3-0 success over Bala Town. Jack Turner and Barry Hepburn scored before half-time in the Welsh sun with Ruari Paton completing a fine afternoon with a late strike.

Falkirk, who have won this trophy four times, reached this stage thanks to a 1-0 win at Championship side Ayr United. Liam Henderson was the match-winner with a first half goal.

Squad news
Goalkeeper Callan McKenna is out for a short period of time with a knee issue and Ben McPherson is cup-tied with the only other absentee being Grant Savoury who is set to return to some light training shortly.

Last time out
Saturday, April 30, 2022.
Queen’s Park 1 Falkirk 1
Jai Quitongo (30) Callumn Morrison (84)
Queen’s Park – Callum Ferrie, Jake Davidson, Tommy Robson (Michael Doyle 63), Peter Grant (Stuart Morrison 59), Charlie Fox, Louis Longridge, Darren Lyon (Connor Smith 45), Liam Brown, Jai Quitongo (Connor McBride 52), Luca Connell, Bob McHugh (Simon Murray 63).
Unused substitutes – Jaques Herraghty (G/k), Lewis Moore, Luis Longstaff, Ronan Darcy.
Falkirk – Robbie Mutch, Paul Dixon, Aaron Taylor-Sinclair, Leon McCann, Gary Miller, Callumn Morrison, Steven Hetherington, Keaghan Jacobs, Charlie Telfer, Leigh Griffiths (Aidan Nesbitt 71), Anton Dowds.
Unused substitutes – Patrick Martin (G/k), Mackenzie Lemon, , Seb Ross, Craig McGuffie, Finlay Malcolm.

Supporters Notes

  • Queen’s Park supporters will be housed in the North Stand.
  • Entry by pre-purchased ticket.
  • Supporters coach to park behind the North Stand (free parking).
  • Parking at the stadium is £5.00 per vehicle.
  • The Falkirk Stadium will take cash or card in the Kiosks

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Privacy policy